Skip to the record
Buyer guide · insurance vs cash-pay

Is menopause hormone therapy cheaper through insurance or a cash-pay program?

Four records in this set mention insurance, and not one of them publishes a copay. So the comparison below is between the numbers that exist: a cash charge that includes the medicine, and a care charge that does not.

12 records compared4 insurance positions documentedCopay: not published

The short answer

Insurance wins only if two unpublished numbers beat one published charge

Insurance is cheaper only when two numbers that appear nowhere in these records add up to less than a charge that does: what your plan makes you pay for the visit, and what it makes you pay for the medicine. No program in this set publishes either one.

The records split the market cleanly. Midi Health, Evernow and Wisp price the care and leave the medicine to a pharmacy: $250 for an initial 30-minute visit and $150 for a follow-up at Midi, a $49 monthly membership at Evernow, from $33 a month at Wisp. Not one of them states what the medicine will cost. The cash programs price the whole treatment: Winona at $89 every 28 days, which is $96.75 a month across the cycle; Musely at $46 a month as the provider quotes it; Henry Meds at a flat $149 a month plus a $30 one-time consultation fee; Alloy at $300 every three calendar months, or $100 a month, plus a $49 one-time consultation.

So the usable answer is narrower than the question. A cash program is the only route you can total before you start, which is what makes affordable online menopause care a cash-price question first. Insurance beats it only when your combined monthly cost share stays below the cash charge for the same product, which is below $96.75 for that Winona record and below $46 for Musely's quoted cream. Every insurance-side figure in that test is a blank in the sources, and this page keeps it blank rather than filling it with a typical copay.

What this set settles

  • A cash charge that includes the medicine, at ten programs
  • Care charges and visit fees that exclude it, at three
  • Which programs state an insurance path, and which state none

What no record settles

  • Visit copay, coinsurance and deductible
  • Medication tier price or formulary status
  • Whether a plan reimburses a compounded preparation
  • Eligibility rules for any program

Every blank on this page is a blank in the sources. None of them is a zero, and none is a typical figure borrowed from elsewhere.

$96.75

a month

Winona's compounded cream, derived from $89 charged every 28 days

$49

a month

Evernow's membership, with the medication billed separately at a pharmacy

$250 + $150

per visit

Midi Health's self-pay initial and follow-up, with no membership charged

Documented positions

What four programs actually say about insurance

Only these records discuss it. Three describe a route for the medicine to be billed through a plan; one states plainly that it does not bill insurance at all. No card carries a copay, because none of the four pages publishes one.

Evernow

Membership billed · pharmacy may bill insurance

Checked Oct 23, 2026

Evernow charges a $49 monthly membership on the month-to-month term. Its membership page states that medication costs are not included in the membership pricing and are negotiated at a partner pharmacy at cash prices, and its FAQ says a prescription is filled at a pharmacy and paid there or run through insurance. A self-pay video visit is listed at $150.

Published

  • $49 a month, month-to-month
  • $150 self-pay video visit
  • Term prices: $129 per three months, $348–$420 a year

Not published

  • The medication amount at the pharmacy
  • Whether a plan reimburses any part of it
  • Cancellation terms, not published on the pages read
Henry Meds

Direct pay only · insurance is not billed

Checked Oct 26, 2026

Henry Meds charges a flat $149 a month covering the provider, the standard prescriptions, supplies and shipping. Its treatment page states the service is direct-pay only and that insurance is not billed, though out-of-network claims can be submitted. Its terms add a $30 medical consultation fee and a minimum term that is set at checkout rather than published.

Published

  • $149 a month, medication included
  • $30 one-time medical consultation fee
  • Out-of-network claims can be submitted, per the provider

Not published

  • A per-drug price
  • The minimum term length, set at checkout
  • Any insurance-side cost share, since insurance is not billed
Midi Health

Bills insurance · self-pay per visit

Checked Oct 23, 2026

Midi Health's pricing-and-insurance page states the practice is in-network with most PPO plans, that Medicare is out of network and that Medicaid and Medi-Cal are not accepted, and that HSA and FSA are accepted. It charges no membership. Self-pay is published as $250 for an initial 30-minute visit and $150 for a 15-minute follow-up. The copay a plan would leave the patient to pay is not published.

Published

  • In-network with most PPO plans, stated by the provider
  • Self-pay visit: $250 initial, $150 follow-up
  • No membership or platform fee

Not published

  • Visit copay, coinsurance and deductible
  • Medication price, drug names and formulation
  • How often a follow-up is expected
Wisp

Care charge · pharmacy may bill insurance

Checked Oct 23, 2026

Wisp charges from $33 a month for menopause consults, covering the evaluation, follow-ups and care-team access. Its menopause page states that systemic estradiol and progesterone are sent to a local retail pharmacy and paid there or through insurance, and it publishes no amount for them. A second Wisp page prices the same care at $99 for three months; the record keeps $33 a month and flags the disagreement rather than averaging it.

Published

  • Care from $33 a month
  • Prescription routed to a local retail pharmacy
  • All 50 states, stated on the menopause page

Not published

  • The medication amount at the pharmacy
  • Copay or coinsurance
  • Cancellation terms, not published on the pages read

The other 8 programs in the set

Each holds a self-pay charge and no statement about insurance. That is recorded as not stated, not as a refusal: a pricing page that never mentions the question has not answered it, and turning that silence into a finding would be inventing one.

Side by side

Visit fee, membership, pharmacy charge, medicine and renewal

Every program holding a researched charge, on the same fields. Charge wording repeats each provider's own phrasing; a monthly figure is derived from the charge and the cycle the provider actually bills.

Swipe the table sideways

The monthly figure is derived from the charge as billed. It is not the amount the provider charges each month. An all-in monthly figure is published only where the published charges are complete enough to derive one. Where medication, a membership or a consultation is left unpriced, or a required fee carries an amount but no stated cadence, the all-in figure is withheld and the record says so. A stated supply period on its own never produces an all-in figure: it produces a labelled supply estimate. A program whose medicine sits at a pharmacy shows a membership or a care charge in the monthly column and no all-in total, because a membership is not the cost of a treatment.
ProgramWhat the record states about insuranceVisit fee, membership or care chargeMedicine in the chargeMonthly equivalentRenewal commitmentSource
AlloyEstradiol patchNot statedNo insurance path stated in the recordConsultation: $49 one-timeIncluded in the charge≈ $100.00/mo derivedAll-in · derived from the chargeNot establishedOct 26, 2026Provider page ↗
EvernowMenopause HRTDocumentedMembership billed · pharmacy may bill insurance$49.00 per month, membership onlyNot in the charge · pharmacy bills it, no amount publishedNot establishedMonth to monthOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
Fem ExcelEstradiolNot statedNo insurance path stated in the recordMembership $99/mo · Consultation and test kit: $99 one-timeIncluded in the charge≈ $149.00/mo derivedAll-in · derived from the chargeNot establishedOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
Gala GLP-1Hormone replacement therapyNot statedNo insurance path stated in the recordNo price publishedNot in the charge · pharmacy bills it, no amount publishedNot establishedNot establishedOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
Henry MedsMenopause HRTDocumentedDirect pay only · insurance is not billedMedical consultation fee: $30 one-time · Consultation and follow-up: $0 · includedIncluded in the charge≈ $149.00/mo derivedAll-in · derived from the chargeMinimum term stated at checkout; a multi-month plan may require the balance paid up frontOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
HersOral estradiolNot statedNo insurance path stated in the recordNo separate fee recordedIncluded in the charge≈ $79.00/mo derivedAll-in · derived from the charge12-month planOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
Inner BalanceOestra estradiol and progesterone creamNot statedNo insurance path stated in the recordClinician evaluation, shipping and dose adjustments: $0 · includedIncluded · one charge, two medicines≈ $201.90/mo derivedAll-in · derived from the chargeNot establishedOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
Midi HealthMenopause careDocumentedBills insurance · self-pay per visit$250.00 for the initial 30-minute self-pay visit · Follow-up visits: $150 per visitNot in the charge · pharmacy bills it, no amount publishedNot establishedNot establishedOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
MuselyProgesterone pill (add-on)Not statedNo insurance path stated in the recordNo separate fee recordedAdd-on only · not a full program$20.00/mo as quotedQuoted by the providerNot establishedOct 26, 2026Provider page ↗
Surfbound HealthVelora vaginal estradiol and progesterone creamNot statedNo insurance path stated in the recordNo separate fee recordedIncluded · one charge, two medicines≈ $84.21/mo supply estimateSupply estimate · not a billNo commitmentOct 26, 2026Provider page ↗
WinonaEstrogen with progesterone body creamNot statedNo insurance path stated in the recordConsultation and provider messaging: $0 · includedIncluded · one charge, two medicines≈ $96.75/mo derivedAll-in · derived from the chargeNot establishedOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗
WispMenopause HRTDocumentedCare charge · pharmacy may bill insurance$33.00 per month, including the consultationNot in the charge · pharmacy bills it, no amount publishedNot establishedNot establishedOct 23, 2026Provider page ↗

The monthly figure is derived from the charge as billed. It is not the amount the provider charges each month. An all-in monthly figure is published only where the published charges are complete enough to derive one. Where medication, a membership or a consultation is left unpriced, or a required fee carries an amount but no stated cadence, the all-in figure is withheld and the record says so. A stated supply period on its own never produces an all-in figure: it produces a labelled supply estimate. A program whose medicine sits at a pharmacy shows a membership or a care charge in the monthly column and no all-in total, because a membership is not the cost of a treatment.

01

Where the medicine is priced

At the cash programs it sits inside the charge you read. At Evernow, Wisp and Midi Health it sits at a pharmacy, at an amount none of the three publishes, which is why their monthly column shows a membership or a care charge and never an all-in total.

02

What actually recurs

A membership (Evernow, $49 a month), a care charge (Wisp, from $33 a month), a supply charge every 28 days (Winona, $89), a three-month billing event (Alloy, $300), or nothing at all until the next visit (Midi Health). Four of those look like a monthly price and only one is.

03

What you are committed to

Hers' $79 is a 12-month plan rate, not a month-to-month one. Evernow's $49 is month-to-month, with term prices of $129 per three months and $348 to $420 a year. Henry Meds sets a minimum term at checkout. Alloy bills $300 every three calendar months, which is a billing cycle rather than 12 weeks.

Insurance-routed care

A visit is billed to a plan and the medicine goes to a pharmacy. The published numbers are the self-pay price of the visit and nothing else.

Midi Health

Membership or care charge, medicine at a pharmacy

A monthly membership or care charge recurs whether or not a medicine is dispensed, and the prescription is priced at a pharmacy.

Evernow, Wisp

One cash charge that includes the medicine

The program charge is the price of the treatment, so the figure on the page is the one a buyer can total before starting.

Winona, Musely, Henry Meds, Alloy, Hers, Fem Excel, Inner Balance, Surfbound

The five lines on the bill

The visit, the membership, the medicine and the delivery, counted separately

A menopause bill is not one number. These are the same records, opened up: what the evaluation costs, whether access is billed on top, whether the medicine is inside the charge or priced at a pharmacy, what the pages say about delivery, and what recurs.

4 of 12

price the visit as its own charge, separate from the medicine

1 of 12

bill a recurring membership on top of the medication charge

4 of 12

never publish what the medicine costs at the pharmacy

6 of 12

state that delivery is free or already inside the charge

Swipe the table sideways

Each recorded programme with its consultation charge, any recurring membership, whether the medicine is inside the charge or priced at a pharmacy, what the pages state about delivery, and the charge that recurs with the cycle it recurs on.
ProgramVisit or consultationRecurring membershipThe medicineDeliveryWhat recursChecked
AlloyEstradiol patch$49.00 one-timeNone statedInside the chargeIncluded, stated on the page$300.00 per three calendar months ($100 a month) · every three calendar monthsOct 26, 2026
EvernowMenopause HRTInside the membershipInside the $49.00 chargeAt an outside pharmacy, no amount publishedNot stated$49.00 per month, membership only · each calendar monthOct 23, 2026
Fem ExcelEstradiol$99.00 one-time$99.00/mo, on top of the medicineInside the chargeNot stated$50.00 per medication, per month · each calendar monthOct 23, 2026
Gala GLP-1Hormone replacement therapyNo price publishedNone statedAt an outside pharmacy, no amount publishedIncluded, stated on the pageNo recurring charge publishedOct 23, 2026
Henry MedsMenopause HRT$30.00 one-time · consultation and follow-up includedNone statedInside the chargeIncluded, stated on the page$149.00 per month · each calendar monthOct 23, 2026
HersOral estradiolNo separate fee listedNone statedInside the chargeNot stated$79.00 per month on a 12-month plan · each calendar monthOct 23, 2026
Inner BalanceOestra estradiol and progesterone creamclinician evaluation, shipping and dose adjustments includedNone statedTwo medicines in one chargeIncluded, stated on the page$597.00 per 90-day supply · every 90 daysOct 23, 2026
Midi HealthMenopause care$250.00 for the initial 30-minute self-pay visit · $150.00 per visitNone statedAt an outside pharmacy, no amount publishedNot statedBilled per visit, nothing recursOct 23, 2026
MuselyProgesterone pill (add-on)No separate fee listedNone statedAdd-on rate, not a programmeIncluded, stated on the page$20.00 per month, as quoted for the progesterone add-on · cadence not establishedOct 26, 2026
Surfbound HealthVelora vaginal estradiol and progesterone creamprovider review and shipping includedNone statedTwo medicines in one chargeIncluded, stated on the page$249.00 per 45 g pump, described as about a 90-day supply · every 90 daysOct 26, 2026
WinonaEstrogen with progesterone body creamconsultation and provider messaging includedNone statedTwo medicines in one chargeNot stated$89.00 every 28 days · every 28 daysOct 23, 2026
WispMenopause HRTThe care charge itselfNone statedAt an outside pharmacy, no amount publishedNot stated$33.00 per month, including the consultation · each calendar monthOct 23, 2026
Reading a cellIncluded in the charge, as the page statesA published amountNo such charge listedA blank in the source

The delivery column is a silence, not a fee

6 of 12 pages state that delivery is free or already inside the charge, which is why no shipping charge appears anywhere in the records. The other 6 never mention delivery at all. That is recorded as unstated: it is not a $0, and it is not evidence of a hidden fee either. If a delivery charge exists at those programmes, these pages do not show it.

Why the medicine column matters most

At 4 of 12 programmes the prescription is priced at a pharmacy, so the only figure the provider can be held to is the care charge. At the rest it sits inside the charge, which means a membership listed beside it is access and not medicine. Only 8 of 12 records are complete enough to total up front, and those are the ones the break-even test can use.

Figures on this table are read from the same records as every other page here. Check dates run from Oct 23, 2026 to Oct 26, 2026; each row carries its own. A programme whose visit is priced per meeting has no monthly figure to show, and none is derived by assuming how often you would be seen.

The arithmetic

The break-even test, using only the numbers that exist

Premiums are paid whether or not a program is used, so they are left out. What is left is your cost share against the cash charge.

Monthly cost of the insurance route

(visit cost share × visits a year ÷ 12)
+ (medicine cost share × fills a year ÷ 12)

If that total is below the cash figure on the row for the same product, insurance is cheaper. If it is above, the cash program is. Nothing else in this set moves the answer.

Both cost-share figures are yours to fill in. No record here supplies them, and a typical copay inserted by this page would look precise while being unverifiable.

Worked example · hypothetical, not a record

Take a hypothetical plan that charges $30 a visit, with two visits in a year: that is $60, or $5.00 a month. Against Winona's $96.75, the medicine would then have to cost you less than $91.75 a month through the plan for insurance to win on this arithmetic. The $30 is not a recorded copay and is not used anywhere else on this site; it is there so the formula has something to stand on.

Midi Health's row has no monthly figure to beat, and that is the clearest illustration of the asymmetry. Its published numbers are per visit. An insurance plan replaces the $250 with a cost share, so the comparison is between a copay nobody published and a visit price nobody is charged when they are covered.

Swipe the table sideways

Recorded cash charges per program, with the monthly equivalent an insurance route has to beat for the same product.
ProgramProductCharge as billedCash figure to beatWhat that figure isChecked
MuselyProgesterone pill (add-on)$20.00 per month, as quoted for the progesterone add-on$20.00/moQuoted by the providerOct 26, 2026
HersOral estradiol$79.00 per month on a 12-month plan$79.00/moAll-in · derived from the chargeOct 23, 2026
Surfbound HealthVelora vaginal estradiol and progesterone cream$249.00 per 45 g pump, described as about a 90-day supply$84.21/moSupply estimate · not a billOct 26, 2026
WinonaEstrogen with progesterone body cream$89.00 every 28 days$96.75/moAll-in · derived from the chargeOct 23, 2026
AlloyEstradiol patch$300.00 per three calendar months ($100 a month)$100.00/moAll-in · derived from the chargeOct 26, 2026
Fem ExcelEstradiol$50.00 per medication, per month$149.00/moAll-in · derived from the chargeOct 23, 2026
Henry MedsMenopause HRT$149.00 per month$149.00/moAll-in · derived from the chargeOct 23, 2026
Inner BalanceOestra estradiol and progesterone cream$597.00 per 90-day supply$201.90/moAll-in · derived from the chargeOct 23, 2026

Records whose all-in total is withheld are absent rather than shown at a membership price: Evernow, Wisp and Midi Health price care, and a care charge is not the amount an insurance route has to beat for a treatment.

Not established

The five numbers this page will not invent

Each one would make the comparison sharper and each one is missing from every source read. They are listed with what would settle them, so a reader knows exactly which question to take to a plan.

Visit copay and coinsurance

Not published by Midi Health, Evernow, Wisp or Henry Meds. The number exists on your plan's schedule of benefits, not on a provider's pricing page.

Not established

Formulary tier for estradiol or progesterone

No record states a tier, a preferred brand or a quantity limit. A tier is a plan fact, and no program in this set publishes one.

Not established

Deductible and prior authorisation

Not stated anywhere in the set. Whether a plan requires authorisation before it pays for a menopause visit or a patch is not a provider-side fact.

Not established

Eligibility to be treated

None of the records states who a program will accept, so nothing here says insurance or cash makes you eligible sooner.

Not established

Compounded preparation reimbursement

Four records hold a compounded product and none states whether a plan pays for one. The guide records the question as open rather than guessing.

Not established

One network statement does exist

Midi Health states that it is in-network with most PPO plans, that Medicare is out of network, and that Medicaid and Medi-Cal are not accepted. Evernow, Wisp and Henry Meds publish no network statement at all, so nothing here says whether they are in network for any plan.

Midi Health record

Insurance or cash-pay, answered as far as the records go

Each answer carries the date the underlying record was read. Where the answer is a blank, the blank is the answer.

  • It depends on two numbers that no program in this set publishes: what your plan charges you for the visits, and what it charges you for the medicine. A cash program publishes one charge you can total today. Insurance publishes nothing here, so it is cheaper only when your combined visit and medication cost share for a month lands below the cash charge for the same product, and more expensive when it lands above it. The break-even table above sets the bar with recorded figures; the two plan figures are yours to supply.

Sources

Every page read, with what it settles

A page that establishes a blank is listed too. No figure on this page comes from a comparison listing, an aggregator or a prior version of this guide.

Swipe the table sideways

Each provider page read for this comparison, what it supports and the date it was read.
ProgramPage readWhat it supports hereChecked
AlloyProvider pricing pageThe recorded self-pay charge, and no statement about insuranceOct 26, 2026
EvernowMembership pageTreatment or pricing pageMembership billed · pharmacy may bill insuranceOct 23, 2026
Fem ExcelProvider pricing pageThe recorded self-pay charge, and no statement about insuranceOct 23, 2026
Gala GLP-1Provider pricing pageNo charge and no statement about insurance on the pages readOct 23, 2026
Henry MedsTreatment page · HRTDirect pay only · insurance is not billedOct 23, 2026
HersProvider pricing pageThe recorded self-pay charge, and no statement about insuranceOct 23, 2026
Inner BalanceProvider pricing pageThe recorded self-pay charge, and no statement about insuranceOct 23, 2026
Midi HealthPricing and insurance pageTreatment or pricing pageBills insurance · self-pay per visitOct 23, 2026
MuselyProvider pricing pageThe recorded self-pay charge, and no statement about insuranceOct 26, 2026
Surfbound HealthProvider pricing pageThe recorded self-pay charge, and no statement about insuranceOct 26, 2026
WinonaProvider pricing pageThe recorded self-pay charge, and no statement about insuranceOct 23, 2026
WispPricing pageTreatment or pricing pageCare charge · pharmacy may bill insuranceOct 23, 2026

Where this page sits in the guide

This page adds no ranking and changes none. The order of the Buyer Guide, the ledger arithmetic and every sponsored placement are untouched, and no sponsored placement appears in the tables above. A program is here because its record holds the fields compared, not because of its position anywhere.

Last modified 23–26 October 2026